Museum of Natural History ISEA PAS
At the beginning, the collection was gathered in a building belonging to the Jagiellonian University, situated on Św. Anny Street, and in 1870 it was moved to the edifice of the Kraków Scientific Society on Sławkowska Street, which has been the seat of the Academy of Learning since 1873.
The first exhibition was opened for visitors in 1888; the multi-departmental natural exhibition was opened in 1922. In 1930, the museum obtained a unique 30-thousand-years old specimen of a woolly rhinoceros found in Starunia, Eastern Subcarpathia (currently on the territory of Ukraine). In 1953, the collection of the Natural History Museum was divided between three newly-built outposts of the Polish Academy of Sciences. As a result, the museum on Sławkowska Street contained only the zoological collection. In 1992, the Polish Academy of Sciences bought the building of an old Roman bath at 9 Sebastiana Street, with the sole purpose of making it the new seat of the Natural History Museum.
Since 1993, the museum's activity has been financially and organisationally supported by the Polska Fundacja Ochrony Przyrody "Pro Natura" foundation from Kraków. The museum's collection is constantly expanded by valuable scientific pieces.
Translation: Summa Linguae