Church of the Holy Trinity and the Dominican Monastery

Address:
ul. Stolarska 12, 31-043 Kraków

The Dominicans moved to Kraków in 1222 thanks to the efforts of Jacek and Iwo Odrowąż; a Romanesque church was built already in the mid-13th century, to be expanded in the mid-15th in the Gothic style. The aisles and chancel were flanked by family and guild chapels in the second half of the 14th and 15th centuries. The chapels of the Gonzaga-Myszkowski, Lubomirski and Zbaraski families, and St Jacek (Hyacinthus) were furnished in the 17th century. The last, modelled on the Sigismund Chapel in Wawel, belongs to the most eminent examples of such chapels in Poland. Another chapel worth noting is that of Our Lady of the Rosary from the end of the 17th century, built as ex-voto thanks for the victory at Vienna.

Outside, the eye gazes upwards to the crow-stepped gable of the façade, bearing escutcheons with coats of arms. The church is entered through a neo-Gothic porch with a late-14th century portal lavishly decorated with plant and animal motifs. The Great Fire of Kraków destroyed the church, its tower, and part of the monastery in 1850. The church was rebuilt in the following decade, and the monastery in the 1890s in neo-Gothic style.

The interior boasts the epitaph slab of Callimachus designed by Veit Stoss (Wit Stwosz), chapels have retained their Baroque furnishing, and the church itself received neo-Gothic furnishing.

Adjacent to the church is the monastic compound gathered around three cloisters, built and developed since the 13th century. Worth attention here are the Romanesque refectory, chapter house, former gate building (13th century) and former library. The cloisters are studded with tombs and epitaphs, mostly from the 16th and 17th centuries.

Date: 2017-05-19 Show ticket
News author: MARCIN DROBISZ
News Publisher: Portal główny EN
  • Send to a friend
  • Add to favourites

What? Where? When?