Kanonicza Street

The institution is a department:
Address:
kanonicza , Kraków

Description

Picturesque Kanonicza Street is the best preserved historic street in old Kraków.

Picturesque Kanonicza Street is the best preserved historic street in old Kraków. Each of the houses along the street boasts a long and rich history, those on the Western side (i.e. adjacent to the city walls), often dating back to the early half of the 14th century. The eastern side (with even numbers) is somewhat younger, as it dates back to the 15th century. Most of the buildings belonged to canons of the Catholic Church, members of the Kraków Chapter House at Wawel Cathedral. Even though their form and walls may be mediaeval, the façades date back to various styles from the 16th to the 18th centuries since they were rebuilt after a fire that consumed nearly the whole street in 1455. Only No. 25, Długosz House, was saved from the conflagration.

The house at No. 1 is the former Palace of Bishop Samuel Maciejowski. Erected in 1531-1532, it was appropriated by the Austrian government in the first half of the 19th century for a court and prison. It only ceased to fulfil this function when a modern complex of court buildings was completed near the Mogilskie roundabout in 1970. After many years of restoration, it has been the headquarters of the Institute of the History of Architecture of Kraków University of Technology since 1990. Over the baroque portal with herms and the threatening inscription: CK Inkwizytoriat Sądowy – "Imperial and Royal Court Inquisitor’s Office" is still visible to this day.

Bishop Erasmus (Erazm) Ciołek’s Palace at No. 17 originated in 1505 from the merging of two 14th-century houses. Frequently remodelled, it has managed to preserve its Gothic and Renaissance character right up to the present day. Arcades, columns, murals, and the early-Renaissance portal are all preserved here. You are welcome to see all these features during a visit to the branch of the National Museum situated in the building to present the sacred arts of bygone days.

Bishop Florian of Mokrsko’s Palace (at No. 18, from the latter half of the 14th century) was rebuilt in Renaissance style around 1540. It features a broad vaulted entrance hall leading to an arcaded courtyard with semi-circular arches supported on fine, light columns. One of the most beautiful Renaissance portals in Kraków is credited to Jan Michałowicz of Urzędów who earned the name of “the Polish Praxiteles”. The portal is crowned with a cartouche bearing the coat-of-arms of Kraków Chapter House.

More www.krakow.travel

Date: 2012-04-02 Show ticket
News author: ANNA WAŚKOWSKA
News Publisher: Redakcja MPI
  • Send to a friend
  • Add to favourites