Kanonicza Street

Address:
ul. Kanonicza, Kraków

The picturesque Kanonicza Street is the best preserved historical street in old Kraków. Each of its houses boasts rich and long history, often dating back to the first half of the 14th century, like the western frontage neighbouring the city walls. The eastern frontage (even numbers) is a bit newer, as it comes from the 15th century. Most of these houses were owned by canons – members of the college of clerics at the Wawel Cathedral. Although the structure of the buildings originated in the Middle Ages, their façades come from different historical periods, from the 16th to the 18th century. This is due to a fire that consumed almost the whole street in 1455. Only the House of Jan Długosz (no. 25) survived the fire.

 House no. 1 is a former palace of Bishop Samuel Maciejowski, erected between 1531 and 1532 and taken over (in the 1st half of the 19th century) by the Austrian authorities, who used it as a court and prison. The palace ceased to fulfil that function only when a new complex of court buildings was build near Rondo Mogilskie roundabout in 1970. After a long overhaul that lasted until 1990, it became the seat of the Institute of History of Architecture of the Cracow University of Technology. To this day, above the Baroque portal with herms, we can read a sinister inscription that says: "Imperial-Royal Court Inquisitor's Office".

Bishop Erazm Ciołek's Palace (no. 17) was created in 1505 by merging two 14th-century houses. Repeatedly rebuilt, it still managed to retain its Gothic and Renaissance character. The preserved elements include: arcade, columns, polychromy and an early-Renaissance portal. These elements can be seen when visiting the branch of the National Museum, presenting old religious art, which has been established in the palace.

Palace of bishop Florian of Mokrsk (no. 18, 2nd half of the 14th century), rebuilt in the Renaissance style around 1540. Its arched hallway leads to a cloister with a semi-circular arcade supported by light, fine pillars. One of the most beautiful portals in Kraków is ascribed to Jan Michałowicz of Urzędów, called a Polish Praxiteles. The portal is crowned with a cartouche featuring the emblem of the Kraków Cathedral Chapter.

Date: 2013-06-07 Show ticket
News author: Weronika Dulowska
News Publisher: Portal główny EN
  • Send to a friend
  • Add to favourites